Illinois Cup Update – July 2019

*** The Illinois Cup is drawing to a close with the last race being the Elgin Road Race which takes place on 7/21 and is a part of the Intelligentsia Cup. Illinois Cup director Chad Briggs took a moment to sum up some of the close competition that is still going on in many of the categories. Stop out and put your best effort in or watch the competition come to a close as we celebrate the season’s efforts with final Illinois Cup Presentations at the Elgin Race in real time. ***

The Jr Boys 17-18 category features a tight race with Alex Tantasook (xXx Racing) and Sam Cummins (The Pony Shop) in a tie for first place with 50 points each. Ethan Hansen and Julian Mejia (Team Veloz), however, are also within striking distance of winning the IL Cup with 36 points each.

The Masters 40-49 category standings are very tight with 6 riders still in contention for the Cup: Jason Knauff (Burnham Racing) is in the lead with 77 points, followed closely by Jose Rodriguez (INTENT, 71 pts), Rick Schopp (INTENT, 66 pts), Mark Nowack (Franco Factory Racing, 61 pts), Nate Iden (Burnham Racing, 58 pts), and Tim Strelecki (Franco Factory Racing, 52 pts).

In the Masters 50+ category, Aaron Katin (Burnham Racing) leads Dean Abt (xXx Racing) by 22 points with 25 points up for grabs to the winner of the Denis Jurs Memorial State Championship Road Race in Elgin.

Three riders are in contention for the Women 4 Cup: Margaret McGill (105 pts) and BFF Bikes teammate Donais Deetz (85 pts) lead, but Jacqueline Wunrow (The Bike Hub) is in a close third with 84 points.

In the Women’s 1/2 Category, Katherine Isermann (PSIMET Racing) has the IL Cup sown up, but there is a battle for the other two podium spots between Francine Haas (PACT, 76 pts) and PSIMET Racing teammates Allison Schroeder (71 pts) and Leah Sanda (61 pts).

The Men’s Category 3 Cup is wide open: First and second place are currently occupied by Craig Kielbasa (75 pts) and Ryan Beeson (University of Illinois, 63 pts), but both riders have upgraded to Category 2 and are no longer eligible to earn points. That leaves the IL Cup up for grabs among three riders who are closely behind: Kurt Druffel (Waukesha Animal Hospital Cycling, 62 pts), Chase Negley (60 pts) and Dominic Lopez (xXx Racing, 56 pts).

The Men’s 1/2 Category comes down to Michael Lanyon (Burnham Racing, 88 pts) and Craig Kielbasa (72.5 pts) who upgraded from Category 3 mid-season and promptly won his first race (the Region Riot Criterium) as a Category 2 rider.


Early 2019 News

We are attempting to test a new process for determining State Championship venues. The process will now include 3 parts – a Committee nominated by members and selected by the board form those nominations, a vote of the board, and votes of the club/team members. We are using this process to determine the 2019 State Criterium Championship venue. As such we are opening up nominations for committee members. We will need enough nominations to allow us to fill the 5 positions.

All nominations must be from a ICA licensed member (if you have a 2019 USA Cycling License that is valid and in good standing and your listed address on that license is Illinois then you are automatically a member of the ICA) in good standing and the nominated individuals must be members also. Please submit your nominations to the ICA via email at

Last year the ICA board voted to shift the terms of some of the officers in an effort to allow gradual change as new officers come on board instead of a completely new board after an election as has happened in the past. It can take a long time to find all of the logins, accounts, information, files, etc so it is easy to understand why that decision was made. What that means is that the election last year for Secretary, Treasurer, and Vice President were for 2 year terms and will be up for re-election next year. The position of President (currently held by Robert Curtis) was only a 1 year term. The At-Large position held by Chad Briggs was held over from the previous board and will join the President in being elected in off years.

This means that these two positions are now open for election. Robert and Chad have both expressed that they both would like to serve in those positions again and will run. That being said we are still holding an election and are now stating that this will be the open nomination period for the positions of President and At-Large for the ICA-Board. As above if you are a licensed member of the ICA in good standing you are free to nominate any other member in good standing to run for either position. That member must accept that nomination in order to participate in the election.

As in years before – once the nominations have been made all teams will be allowed to cast a single vote in each race – as a team.

The nomination period for both the committee for State Championships and for the election will be open until Monday 3/4/19.