Photo Credit: Ethan Glading

Without a doubt these races stand as the crown jewels during the cycling season. Designed to be prime examples of their respective disciplines, the championship courses are challenging and exciting, to say the least. Teams and riders will throw everything at these races, where reputations can be cemented instantly and a win can be paydirt for a sponsor.

A win earns the winning rider the right to wear the championship jersey for the coming year and of course includes a suitcase of bragging rights. The competition is intense and though only Illinois-registered cyclists are eligible for the state title, an opportunistic out-of-state rider will often try for the upset.  Every year these races never fail to deliver some of the best racing to be had.


Road Race: SUN 7/17 – PSCS Willow Springs Road Race
Time Trial: SAT 8/20 – Scarlet Fire Racing (Paw Paw TT Course)
Criterium: SAT 8/27 – Bloomintgon Criterium
Mountain Bike*: SAT 9/24 & SUN 9/25 – Jersey Presentation @ Farmdale Festival
Cyclocross: SUN 12/4 Ten 27 Cycling Club & Spidermonkey Cycling / Montrose Harbor
July 16th – IL State Masters Champs
August 4th – IL State Keirin Champs
August 18th – IL State Scratch Champs
August 20th – IL State Elite Timed Track Champs I
August 21st – IL State Elite Timed Track Champs II
August 25th – IL State Points Race Champs
September 1st – IL State Madison Champs
August 11th – Junior Invitational

* The Illinois State Mountain Bike Championship is NOT a one day event. It is a series comprised of 9 total races with competitors using their 5 best finishes in order to determine the State Championship winners, which are not finalized until the Farmdale Festival in September.  The nine races in the series are: 4/17: Illiniwek (FORC); 5/1 Marilla Parl (CICA); 5/22: Jubilee Challenge (PAMBA); 6/12 Sunderbruch FORC Side Thrill Ride (FORC); 7/31: Wildlife Wild (PAMBA); 8/14: Lake Shelbyville (CIMBA); 8/21 Kickapoo Fat Tire Festival (KMBC); 9/4 Mud Sweat & Gears (CORBA); 9/24-9/25 Farmdale Festival (final IHRS awards) (PAMBA).